How to tell my boyfriend I am aromantic?

This is my first time using the platform so apologies if I am not posting this in the right place.

I have been with my boyfriend for almost five months, and recently realised I am aromantic (lithromantic specifically). I genuinely had no idea before we got together, because I have always had crushes and I was very much into him before we started dating. When we got together, the feelings just died, and I feel uncomfortable with any affection or romance he shows me, and any that I am expected to show in return. It has got to the point where I am so uncomfortable that I do not want sex (I am on the ace spectrum but usually have no problem engaging sexually with him). Looking back on my two previous relationships and any dates I have been on, its the same story every time. 

The problem is, I really wanted it to work with this boy. I thought that I was just cold hearted and sociopathic, and that was why I didn’t feel what I was supposed to, but I’ve always wanted a long term relationship and a family and kids, and this boy was perfect. So I really played up my affection for him. He tells me things like I am his soulmate, he can’t wait to marry me and have kids, and I play along very well. He thinks I am obsessed with him as he is with me.

So how do I possibly tell him it’s all a lie? From the beginning we were both open about the fact that we are dating to marry so I know that it is unfair to stay with him on his part, as I don’t think I can ever possibly marry him. 

How can I tell him the truth without coming cross as a lying manipulative bitch? He is also not particularly ‘woke’ and I don’t think he will take kindly to the ‘aromantic’ label. 

I don’t want to hurt him. 

He is also friends with most of my friends (we worked together before dating) and I don’t know what he will tell him but it won’t be anything nice.

I am begging for advice! I hope I am not the only person who realised too late. 

• Like 1